The Mystic Cat Logo with white strip

The Chakras For Beginners


What are the 7 main chakras and what do they mean? This article will teach you about the 7 chakras and their meaning. Plus how to use tools like chakra stones and meditation.

Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

What Are The Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. These are a system of energy centers as part of our energetic body. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the physical body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth.

Meditating while working with chakra stones or crystals can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in balance. They are in balance when they are all spinning in the same direction and at the same speed.

Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through energy healing and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

What Are The 7 Main Human Chakras?

According to practitioners of chakra healing, we all have 7 primary chakras that correspond with vital areas of our bodies and emotional and spiritual aspects of our lives.

The seven chakras form a line from the base of your spine to the top of your head.

In terms of meaning, chakras have their own colour, vibrational frequency, spiritual properties and symbol.

Each chakra has a:

  • Body location,
  • Colour,
  • Vibration
  • Central emotional/behavioral issue,
  • Spiritual alignment
  • As well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.


  1. Root – Muladhara – base of the spine
  2. Sacral – Svadhisthana – reproductive organs, lower back / hip
  3. Solar Plexus – Manipura – abdomen
  4. Heart – Anahata – middle of chest / heart area
  5. Throat – Vishuddha – throat
  6. Third Eye – Ajna – middle of brow
  7. Crown – Sahasrara- top of head, cerebral cortex

Balancing The Chakras

Many powerful tools can affect the vibration of the chakra, and that’s where chakra balancing comes into play. Chakra stones, the human voice, music, chants, mantras and chakra meditation bring the frequency of the chakras back into proper vibrational alignment.

You can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body using these tools. Through this process you will be able to bring balance back to each chakra, and ultimately your whole energetic system.

What Is Kundalini Energy

Kundalini energy is the spiritual energy that travels through your chakras in balance. In its dormant state, it can be visualized as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara or root chakra.

The chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of Kundalini energy through your system.

Controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional wellbeing. There is a special type of yoga that focuses on this, called Kundalini yoga.

How To Tell If A Chakra Is Blocked Or Out Of Balance

You can check in with each of your chakras by doing a simple meditation.

Starting at the root chakra, bring a bright light up through each chakra to the crown center and back. Take deep breaths in through your nose and then out slowly through the mouth, while only focusing on the light and the chakras. 

If one of your chakras is blocked you will feel a strange sensation, or different feelings. Stay with the chakra, keeping relaxed, and see if you can feel what the issue is.

It also helps to know what each chakra is associated with. You can tell that a chakra is out of balance or blocked by physical or emotional symptoms you’re experiencing.

For example, the root chakra governs the spinal column, kidneys, legs, feet, rectum, and immune system. So, when this chakra is out of balance, it may lead to lower back pain, varicose veins, leg cramps, rectal conditions, depression, as well as immune related disorders. A lack of balance in the root chakra may be caused by feelings of low self esteem, insecurity, or family concerns.

Chakra chart with balanced and blocked properties

How To Heal A Blocked Or Out Of Balance Chakra

What do you do if one or more of your chakras are blocked or out of balance? There are excellent tools to help you, such as chakra stones. In addition, the human voice, music, chants, mantras and chakra meditation bring the frequency of the chakras back into proper vibrational alignment. For example, the root chakra is greatly affected by the hematite, onyx, ruby or garnet gemstones. During chakra healing a practitioner may use one or all of these chakra stones to cleanse your root chakra and bring it into harmony.


  1. Root – Red, black or earthy crystals like Hematite, Jasper and Garnet
  2. Sacral – Orange crystals like Carnelian, orange Calcite, peach Aventurine and Sunstone
  3. Solar Plexus – Yellow crystals like Gold Tiger’s Eye, Pyrite, Citrine and yellow Aventurine
  4. Heart – Green or pink crystals like Green Aventurine, Jade, Rose Quartz and Pink Opal
  5. Throat – Blue to turquoise crystals like Aquamarine, Turquoise, Blue Lace Agate and Kyanite
  6. Third Eye – Purple to indigo crystals like Amethyst, Stichtite, Lapis Lazuli and Sodalite
  7. Crown – Clear to white crystals like clear Quartz, Girasol, white Opal and rainbow Moonstone

You can take a look at our Chakra Crystal Kits that contain chakra stones for each of the chakras. Each of our kits include a downloadable Chakra Chart with each chakra’s stone and meaning.


Chakra meditation may also be used to open up your chakra centers and improve the flow of positive psychic energy in your body.

During meditation you simply concentrate on each of the chakras starting with the first one and working your way up to your crown chakra.

By imagining the flow of energy from chakra to chakra, you are helping to remove blockages in each energy center that might be causing pain and disease.

Benefits Of Balancing The Chakras

Because the chakras govern every organ and system in your body, chakra healing has far reaching health implications.

A balanced chakra system can lead to:

  • Improved heart, lung, brain and digestive functioning
  • Less inflammation in the body
  • Stronger immune system
  • Lessening of frequency and severity of headaches
  • May also help with depression and anxiety
  • Can assist with and other emotional imbalances

Many believe that the chakras have the power to transform your life both physically and spiritually. It is only when our chakras are in sync that we can truly access higher levels of consciousness.

I hope this article inspires you to explore your chakras!

Love, M

Written by M Myste
Written by M Myste for The Mystic Cat ~ 2022